Protein per dollar at fast-casual chains (Nov 2026 prices)
Of the 20 dishes we have priced at a named store, the most protein per dollar is the double chicken burrito bowl at Chipotle: 82 g of protein for $13.40 (6.1 g per dollar), at 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202. Under $10, it is the chicken burrito bowl at Chipotle: 50 g of protein for $9.50 (5.3 g per dollar). Original ChopShop's prices come from a web menu that names no location, so its dishes are in the table, marked, but not in these picks.
Best at each chain: Chipotle, double chicken burrito bowl (6.1 g per dollar); Original ChopShop (web-menu price, location not stated), Chicken + Prosciutto (5.3 g per dollar); Sweetgreen, Kale Caesar (3.4 g per dollar).
These are the prices we have checked so far: 42 dishes at 3 fast-casual chains (Chipotle, Sweetgreen and Original ChopShop), prices checked November 1, 2026. No fast-food (drive-thru) chain is priced yet. Prices vary by location and exclude tax and fees.
Every dish we have priced, ranked
| # | Dish | Price | Protein | g protein per $ | Calories per $ | $ per 10 g | Protein source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Double chicken burrito bowl Chipotle · 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC | $13.40 | 82 g | 6.1 | 62 | $1.63 | Calculated from Chipotle's published values |
| 2 | Chicken + Prosciutto Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $12.00 | 64 g | 5.3 | 63 | $1.88 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 3 | Chicken burrito bowl Chipotle · 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC | $9.50 | 50 g | 5.3 | 69 | $1.90 | Calculated from Chipotle's published values |
| 4 | Muscle Malt Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $8.50 | 40 g | 4.7 | 68 | $2.13 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 5 | Grinder Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $12.00 | 56 g | 4.7 | 82 | $2.14 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 6 | The Club Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $11.00 | 48 g | 4.4 | 71 | $2.29 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 7 | Carnitas burrito bowl Chipotle · 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC | $10.25 | 41 g | 4.0 | 67 | $2.50 | Calculated from Chipotle's published values |
| 8 | Jacked Up PB+J Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $8.50 | 32 g | 3.8 | 65 | $2.66 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 9 | Cheat Day Wrap Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $10.75 | 40 g | 3.7 | 93 | $2.69 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 10 | Barbacoa burrito bowl Chipotle · 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC | $11.50 | 42 g | 3.7 | 56 | $2.74 | Calculated from Chipotle's published values |
| 11 | PB+J Greek Yogurt Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $7.50 | 27 g | 3.6 | 75 | $2.78 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 12 | Kale Caesar Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $11.95 | 41 g | 3.4 | 46 | $2.91 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 13 | Steak burrito bowl Chipotle · 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC | $11.50 | 39 g | 3.4 | 54 | $2.95 | Calculated from Chipotle's published values |
| 14 | Moroccan Turkey Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $11.00 | 37 g | 3.4 | 57 | $2.97 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 15 | Grilled Steak Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $12.50 | 42 g | 3.4 | 62 | $2.98 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 16 | Hot Honey Chicken Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $14.95 | 49 g | 3.3 | 57 | $3.05 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 17 | Brekkie Wrap Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $10.00 | 30 g | 3.0 | 89 | $3.33 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 18 | Harvest Bowl Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $13.45 | 40 g | 3.0 | 57 | $3.36 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 19 | Chicken Pesto Parm Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $13.75 | 38 g | 2.8 | 37 | $3.62 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 20 | Sofritas burrito bowl Chipotle · 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC | $9.50 | 26 g | 2.7 | 66 | $3.65 | Calculated from Chipotle's published values |
| 21 | Autumn Harvest Bowl Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $14.45 | 39 g | 2.7 | 62 | $3.71 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 22 | Buffalo Chicken Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $13.95 | 37 g | 2.7 | 42 | $3.77 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 23 | Chicken Sesame Crunch Salad Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $13.75 | 35 g | 2.5 | 45 | $3.93 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 24 | Crispy Rice Bowl Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $14.45 | 33 g | 2.3 | 47 | $4.38 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 25 | Avocado Toast Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $9.00 | 19 g | 2.1 | 74 | $4.74 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 26 | Guacamole Greens Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $14.45 | 29 g | 2.0 | 38 | $4.98 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 27 | Caramelized Garlic Steak Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $16.95 | 34 g | 2.0 | 45 | $4.99 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 28 | Piña-Kale-Ada Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $8.50 | 17 g | 2.0 | 35 | $5.00 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 29 | Steak Honey Crunch Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $16.45 | 32 g | 1.9 | 37 | $5.14 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 30 | Glow Up Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $8.50 | 16 g | 1.9 | 92 | $5.31 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 31 | Italian Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $11.00 | 20 g | 1.8 | 57 | $5.50 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 32 | Scottsdale Cobb Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $11.00 | 18 g | 1.6 | 55 | $6.11 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 33 | Coconut Chia Pudding Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $7.50 | 12 g | 1.6 | 96 | $6.25 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 34 | Hummus Crunch Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $13.45 | 21 g | 1.6 | 38 | $6.40 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 35 | Shroomami Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $12.95 | 20 g | 1.5 | 51 | $6.47 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 36 | Super Green Goddess Sweetgreen · Uptown Charlotte, NC | $11.05 | 12 g | 1.1 | 42 | $9.21 | Published by Sweetgreen |
| 37 | Raw Vegetable Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $10.00 | 9 g | 0.9 | 31 | $11.11 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 38 | Dragonfruit Bowl Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $9.25 | 8 g | 0.9 | 59 | $11.56 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 39 | Citrus Thai Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $11.00 | 9 g | 0.8 | 23 | $12.22 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 40 | Danish Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $11.00 | 9 g | 0.8 | 29 | $12.22 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 41 | Acai Bowl Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $9.25 | 7 g | 0.8 | 61 | $13.21 | Published by Original ChopShop |
| 42 | Beet Original ChopShop · Location not stated on the brand's menu | $11.00 | 8 g | 0.7 | 24 | $13.75 | Published by Original ChopShop |
How we check prices and protein
- Chipotle: 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202 · checked November 1, 2026 · Chipotle ordering site, burrito bowl builder (316 S Tryon St selected) · Builds: Bowl with cilantro-lime white rice, black beans, fresh tomato salsa and cheese.
- Sweetgreen: Uptown Charlotte, 301 N Tryon St, Suite 101, Charlotte, NC 28202 · checked November 1, 2026 · Sweetgreen ordering site, Uptown Charlotte pickup menu
- Original ChopShop: location not stated · checked November 1, 2026 · Original ChopShop's online menu · originalchopshop.com/menu/ does not say which location its prices are for; prices at your ChopShop may differ.
Prices come from each chain’s own website or ordering page, read on the date shown, with a named store selected whenever the site offers a store picker; never from delivery apps or third-party price lists.
Original ChopShop's web menu has no store picker and names no location, so those rows show the listed web-menu price, are marked “location not stated”, and are left out of the best-value and cheapest picks above the table.
Prices are before tax, tips and delivery fees, and change by location and over time. Any price older than 120 days is hidden until it is checked again.
Protein comes from our nutrition data for the same dish: the restaurant’s published figure, or a total calculated from the brand’s published per-ingredient values for the build named on the row. We match a price to a dish only when the price page and our data name the same item with the same calories.
Protein per dollar is grams of protein divided by the price; calories per dollar and dollars per 10 g are worked out the same way. Rankings use the exact values; the table rounds them for display.
More on our data: how we collect and estimate nutrition data. HealthyEatsNearMe is not affiliated with any chain listed.
FAQ
Which fast food or fast-casual dish has the best protein per dollar?
Of the dishes we have priced at a named store (all at fast-casual chains so far), the most protein per dollar is the double chicken burrito bowl at Chipotle: 82 g of protein for $13.40 (6.1 g per dollar), at 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202. Next: the chicken burrito bowl at Chipotle (5.3 g per dollar) and the carnitas burrito bowl at Chipotle (4.0 g per dollar). At Original ChopShop's web-menu prices, which name no location, the best is Chicken + Prosciutto at 5.3 g per dollar. Prices checked November 1, 2026; they vary by location.
What is the cheapest high-protein meal on this list?
At a named store, the cheapest dish with at least 30 g of protein is the chicken burrito bowl at Chipotle: 50 g of protein for $9.50 (5.3 g per dollar). The cheapest at the other chains: Original ChopShop (web-menu price, location not stated), Muscle Malt (40 g) and Jacked Up PB+J (32 g), both $8.50; Sweetgreen, Kale Caesar (41 g), $11.95.
Is this the cheapest high-protein fast food?
Not necessarily. Every chain priced here so far is fast-casual (Chipotle, Sweetgreen and Original ChopShop). We have not yet been able to read store prices for drive-thru chains such as McDonald's, Chick-fil-A, Subway and Whataburger on their own websites, and we do not use delivery-app prices, so they are not compared here. Their protein figures, without prices, are in our ranking of the highest-protein fast food meals.
How much protein is in a Chipotle double chicken burrito bowl, and is double worth it?
Calculated from Chipotle's published values, a double chicken burrito bowl (bowl with cilantro-lime white rice, black beans, fresh tomato salsa and cheese) has 82 g of protein and 835 calories. It cost $13.40 at 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202 on November 1, 2026: 6.1 g of protein per dollar. With one portion it is 50 g for $9.50 (5.3 g per dollar), so the $3.90 upgrade adds 32 g, about 8.2 g per extra dollar.
Where do these prices come from?
From each chain's own website or ordering page, never a delivery app or a third-party price list: Chipotle at 316 S Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202, checked November 1, 2026; Sweetgreen at Uptown Charlotte, 301 N Tryon St, Suite 101, Charlotte, NC 28202, checked November 1, 2026; Original ChopShop from its own web menu, which names no location, checked November 1, 2026. Prices are before tax, tips and fees, differ between locations and change over time; we hide any price older than 120 days.